Welcome to the KeepItPrinting.com forums! The doctor is IN.

Your business can be seen here! Prime spots available!

Please consider making a voluntary donation if you find these forums helpful. Thank you.
Home of the Kip Doctor!            REGISTER: In order to register for our forums please send an E mail to [email protected] stating what user                                                               name and password you would like. This is now required due to all the spambots that have been registering.
KeepItPrinting.com Forum Index KeepItPrinting.com
The "unofficial' and "unauthorized" KIP info site.

Repairing a KIP 3000 controller
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    KeepItPrinting.com Forum Index -> KIP 3000 and 3100
View previous topic :: View next topic  
marky000
medical school senior

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2014 5:06 am    Post subject: Repairing a KIP 3000 controller Reply with quote Back to top

Hey all, I am a computer tech but am reasonably new to KIP hardware.

I have a regular IT customer who happens to own a KIP 3000 printer that stopped working. We called in a KIP technician who stated that the KIP controller wasn't booting up at all due to a failed power supply. Well since I have built hundreds of PCs and given my rates are a quater of what KIP techs charge, he agrred the best plan was for me to source a replacement power supply and fit it myself.

Well, I did replace the power supply but still no joy. CPU fan would spin for a second and then stop. Looked at MOBO closely and discovered a bulging capacitor so I can only guess that is the problem. I tried booting with everything disconnected except the MOBO and CPU but still nothing but the 1 second spin of CPU fan.

Since I am not that keen on replacing the capacitor, I have now moved the hard drive and SSCI card to another computer altogther. Luckily it booted up first try, most likely because both MOBOs were Intel Pentium based.